Best concerts ever, Pt. 2

16 Jan

We are currently in the midst of the longest heatwave since 1908 (apparently). From Tuesday to Friday the temperature has soared beyond the 40°C mark (that’s over 104°F). Tuesday was pretty brutal. My ride home from work was excruciating. I arrived home with a strangely purplish face. The wind was hot during my ride and was blowing into my already dehydrated eyes, even behind my sunglasses. The streets were deserted. It was strange, rather like what the world might be like after surviving the apocalypse. Today is meant to be the hottest day at 44°C, but we’ll see. I do like my extreme Melbourne heat, but usually only in moderation.

Meanwhile, the new year has commenced, and I’m looking forward to 2014. 2013 was okay, but I am not a fan of the number 13 so I’m happy it’s over. My birthday came and went in late December. I had planned an amazing day of winery visiting, but something most unfortunate happened to my foot and I couldn’t walk for a few days. This year we will be travelling to Europe which we are ridiculously excited about. I’m pretty sure that will definitely be the highlight of the year. I am also currently reading The Count of Monte Cristo and am very much looking forward to seeing Paris again.

I haven’t forgotten that I commenced my Best Concerts Ever series some time ago (very slack blogger here), so I thought I’d continue today. Note that we are seeing Nine Inch Nails and Queens of the Stone Age  in March as they are playing together in one show. The former is one of Alex’s favourite bands and the latter was my favourite band some time ago, which is rather coincidental as both bands have a pretty different sound yet are playing together. I don’t know much about NIN but I do enjoy the new QOTSA album. I wonder if this concert will make my Best Concerts Ever list.

Grizzly Bear, 12/11/12 @ Billboards, Melbourne

Yet another band my lovely husband introduced me to. If it weren’t for him, I’d still be listening to The Mars Volta’s second album on repeat (not that I’d be complaining). I’m not very good at life sometimes.

I first heard of Grizzly Bear from an online clip Alex showed me of the group singing Knife a cappella on the streets of Paris. One of the guys was making pretty impressive sounds with his mouth. Another was wrapping his jumper around his head. I was intrigued.

I soon decided to listen to some albums and I was very impressed. Then came the absolutely incredible album Shields in 2012 and its subsequent tour and our tickets were purchased rather promptly. This is a band whose latest album is always somehow better than their amazing previous album. So Shields is pretty epic and this was definitely a concert we were looking forward to.

Strangely, the band were to play at Billboards, a rather small Melbourne venue. It was a cosy show, and due to the size of the venue we were guaranteed a pretty good view of the stage.

What a show. I love that Grizzly Bear has two lead vocalists, each of whom have an ethereal type of voice that leaves the crowd staring breathless and in awe of what they are witnessing. Seeing Grizzly Bear live is soothing and exciting. You want to move but you also want to close your eyes and imagine the world has stopped around you.

It was a dreamy show, and definitely one to remember. Every time I listen to the band now and close my eyes it takes me back to the time I saw them live and I can feel myself there once again.

2 Responses to “Best concerts ever, Pt. 2”

  1. Paz January 16, 2014 at 4:08 pm #

    Wow! Very hot, indeed! We had one of the coldest days here in history. It was freezing. Temperature is back to normal now (30-40F) Still cold but compared to the bone-chilling day we had, it feels like a heatwave now. :-)

    Wishing you all the best for 2014!

    • Nicole January 16, 2014 at 7:51 pm #

      Yes, I’ve heard about the extreme weather over there too! Hope it gets warmer there soon!

      Happy new year to you to Paz!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

