Raisin bread

18 Jan

Still no internet at home. Hopefully it will be connected next week. I should be making the most of it though as I have been incredibly productive lately.

With one more packet of yeast left over which was due to expire in February, I thought I’d have a shot at making a sweet bread. My husband had just made cinnamon buns again (he is so cruel) and as tempted as I was to try making these difficult delights, I found this recipe for raisin bread and thought I’d give it a go.

Raisin bread is one of those yummy comfort foods that you often forget about, but one random day you accidentally stumble across it in the supermarket, remember the good times, and buy your first loaf in two years.

Raisin bread was made to be toasted. I’ve had it fresh and it’s just not the same. It’s also made to be smothered in butter. Sans crustiness and melted goodness it is just not as amazing.

Raisins alone are yummy, but there is just something about raisin bread that really brings out the succulent juiciness of the sultanas.

I decided to make this after work the other night. I really should read through recipes before cooking. I started at 7pm and the bread was finished at 12.30am. On a work night. I had to wait until the next day to try some, which disappointed me immensely. I would advise making it a little earlier than 7pm.

The taste of this bread is scrumptious – it tastes just like the loaves you can buy at the supermarket, but with an added homemade satisfaction. The taste reminds me of hot cross buns. Next time I make this I might try adding a little bit of mixed spice to give it a little extra oomph.

I recommend storing this bread in the freezer.

Raisin bread

Adapted from Averie Cooks

Makes 1 loaf

Ingredients

  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 2/3 cup milk, warmed
  • 60g (2oz) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 packet instant dry yeast
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cups plain flour (plus a little extra for dusting, and if dough is too wet)
  • 1 cup sultanas
  • canola spray

Directions

  1. Add warmed milk to beaten egg. Add melted butter, yeast, sugar, cinnamon and salt. Stir until well combined.
  2. Sift in the 2 cups of flour. Use a spoon to mix together. Using lightly floured hands, form a dough with the mixture. Turn dough onto a floured work surface and knead until smooth, for about 5 minutes. Add additional flour in small amounts if the dough is too wet or unmanageable.
  3. Form a ball with the dough. Lightly grease your used mixing bowl with some canola spray and place the ball in the bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and let sit at room temperature for 2 hours.
  4. Punch ball of dough and place back on a floured work surface. Sprinkle sultanas on the dough and knead for about 2 minutes, or until all mixed in. Flatten and press or roll out the dough to form a rectangle of about 20cm by 30cm (8x12in). Starting with the shorter side, roll the dough into a log and place in a sprayed loaf tin. Cover tin with plastic wrap and let sit for 2 more hours.
  5. With about 10 minutes to go, preheat the oven to 190°C/375°F (fan-forced: 170°C/340°F). Bake for about 30-40 minutes, or until top of loaf is golden. Leave bread to cool, and then cut into thin slices. Best served toasted and nicely spread with butter or margarine.
5 Responses to “Raisin bread”

  1. Averie @ Averie Cooks January 18, 2013 at 11:45 am #

    Your bread is gorgeous and thank you for trying my recipe! I am so glad you enjoyed it and your pics of it make me want to make another loaf!

    • Nicole January 18, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

      Thank you for the recipe! I’ll have to make some of your others now :)

  2. Paz January 21, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    Yum, yum, yum! Umm… what are sultanas? Are they another word for raisins? I guess I’ll go google it. :-)

    • Nicole January 24, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

      Yes. Actually, we don’t really use the word raisins here, but we still call it raisin bread. I think sultanas are a variety of grape? I looked it up once.

      • Paz January 28, 2013 at 11:55 am #

        Very interesting! Now I have learned a new word. ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers

